Wow. I mean really, wow. I have no words. I really have no words. It’s so much more easier for me to give reasons why I don’t like something, rather than try to explain why I do. I mean, I don’t know why I like something. I just do!
But let’s see if I can explain this coherently. It took awhile for me to get into the story. Initially you get a lot of information, and I wasn’t exactly sure where it all was headed. However, you needed that back story. You needed to understand the history of the town the history of Ethan, otherwise the vibrancy of the story would be lost. The history completely compliments and enhances the rest of the story, when you get to the end, you’ll get it.
The atmosphere of these book was incredible. I had this insatiable craving for grits and sweet tea….. It really was like you were there, Garcia and Stohl cover even the smallest of details. Characterization was phenomenal. These characters were fantastically portrayed, three dimensional, I had very strong feelings toward each and every one of them and that’s something that doesn’t happen often. Something that’s not evident a lot in YA fiction, is family involvement. The parents or guardians are always in the back ground, there, but not there. Beautiful Creatures has a lot of family involvement, which I loved.
Maybe I do know why I liked it! Writing was outstanding, pacing was right on, I could not get through the pages fast enough! The whole story was just fascinating, I just loved it, every small aspect. It just worked.

